TV: Girl Meets World ‘Pilot’ (Review)

As a lifetime fan of Boy Meets World (a show that defined my childhood) I was quite anxious to see what direction the new spin-off series, Girl Meets World would take. I honestly thought that I would be glowing hot from a terrible mess made of the beloved original series, but needless to say, I’m quite alright. In fact, I actually enjoyed the pilot. Of course there were moments where I I had to roll my eyes, but it was mostly because I am not a kid anymore and I can’t really identify with the new generation of kids and teens.

The show had a ton of mirroring of the original show and a huge nod to Ben Savage’s loyalty to Cory’s humor and a fun take on being a parent – and teacher (two positions of power that he constantly challenged as a boy in BMW). As for Topanga – I am hoping that she will have more personality in future episodes and not be so wooden. Seriously, she kind of just stood, smiled, an nodded in the scenes that she was in. What happened to the spunky, know-it-all Topanga? As for the kids and the students, they were not as infuriatingly bubbly as I anticipated. I totally saw Cory, Shawn, and friends in the new kids. We live in a supposedly post-feminist, post-race, post-bullying, post-gay world, and it’s Disney Channel today not Disney from the 90’s and early 00’s, so there’s bound to be a bit more sugary/light take on big issues like finding one’s identity and choosing your friends wisely. Though the fact that GMW even tackled the big theme of BMW in the first episode gave me hope that the show will go for a more genuine and realistic approach than today’s usual Disney channel shows.

Anyway, I can’t wait to see more of the original characters in future episodes. I mean, what is Eric up to? And why is there a Mr. Feeny educational sign in New York? I will stick around unless the show becomes annoyingly too Disney. I indeed miss the Disney Channel that I grew up with, but the world has to evolve (more like devolve), right? In terms of the show, it wasn’t bad for a pilot and spin-off of such a beloved show.

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

