Listen With Me: Favorite ‘Types’ of Music

Hey, hey, people! So I’m going to start a ‘Listen With Me’ series where I’ll let you all know what I’m jamming or what tune is currently stuck in my head. For starters though, here’s a general sense of what type of music I listen to. Now, my taste changes from time to time, but I tend to stick to songs that are mellow and chill. I also like really upbeat music. I will never stop jamming *NSYNC and Backstreet Boys. 90’s pop was a movement for me. Heck, 90’s music was a movement for me! I used to be good at labeling music based on genre, but it gets complicated every now and then. While I do like finding new music, I am more critical of when certain songs/artists come out. I usually ignore the more mainstream fluff that came out after 2007ish, but artists like The Xx and Bastille have recently caught my ears!

A passion of mine is finding underground music, or artists that are just lesser known. I’m also having a hard time even listening to the new Coldplay album (more on that in a separate blog). I’ll actually write a blog after I listen to the entire album for the first time. Below are some examples of what certain genres sound like to me. I’m sure I’m way off on some of them, but here you go.

Alternative – Coldplay, U2, Goo Goo Dolls

Alternative / Low Fi – The Perishers, Modest Mouse, Metric, The Xx (can also be electronic)

Alternative Rock – The Killers, Kings of Leon, Radiohead (well, these guys can be ‘electronic’ too)

Singer / Songwriter / Alternative – Ryan Adams, Cat Power, Beth Orton

Rock – Lynyrd Skynyrd, Aerosmith, Staind, Collective Soul

Pop – Michelle Branch, *NSYNC, Backstreet Boys

R&B -Justin Timberlake (though he’s also Pop), Aaliyah

Hip-Hop – Jay-Z, The Fugees

Dance, Electronic, Techno/ Upbeat (these can really be broken down) – Faithless, The Prodigy, Bastille

Soul – Sade, Maxwell, KC and Jojo

Country – *I rarely listen to this genre, but when I do it’s along the lines of…The Dixie Chicks, Rascal Flatts

The artists that I post about the most tend to be my favorite artists. Also, if anyone has recommendations based on these very general genre descriptions, please let me know!! I like mixes too!

‘Til next time…

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Listen With Me: Favorite ‘Types’ of Music”

Leave a Reply

