TV and Film: Firefly + Serenity

“The Hero of Canton (The Man They Call Jayne)”

So I’m re-watching and catching up on an array of television shows and films and I decided to pop in the good ol’ Firefly. Of course, I can’t watch Firefly without continuing on to the film Serenity. I’m not the only one to say this, but this series is AMAZING! I’m so sad that it only had one season and a short one at that. I mean, the hook is genius (basically space cowboys w/ a steampunk-ish vibe). I love anything and everything Whedon and praise his writing and imagination. The guy is phenomenal, especially if you’re into the nerd/sci-fi culture. His writing is SMART-COMEDY and definitely an acquired taste.

Anyway, I’m no expert in the details of the mechanics behind the show (there are numerous blogs and websites dedicated to the series), but I just wanted to throw out my appreciation of the characters and the story. As an aspiring TV/film writer/director, it’s a type of series that I aspire to create. The fan-culture is BANANAS (amazing)! They/we support and praise the show like no one’s business. I just love the conversation surrounding the series and how you kind of have to be a members only…member to get it. Anyway, I never get tired of Firefly and I am still waiting on Serenity 2! WAAAAAASHHH!

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

