Music: “Night Birds” by Ryan Adams

You know something guys, I really love Ryan Adams’ music. I love his very laid-back, soothing, walking-down-the-street-seeing-nothing-but-city-lights sound. His music really makes me feel calm and reflective. It’s strange because when I read articles about his live performances, people are spitting close to calling him a jerk. Well, some of them actually call him a jerk. I honestly think these articles are based on his earlier performances. Ryan has been around for a long time (he used to be a part of the band, The Cardinals) and you know, sometimes musicians have to go through some things for their music to be so honest and soulful. I mean that’s the age old saying right? Drugs, Sex, and Rock ‘n Roll…

Well, I judge music based on what I feel when listening to it and it’s critical that I feel the artist’s soul. I know, that sounds totally cliche. Think about it though, what is music for? What does an artist get from making music? I’m talking a real musician. Why the drugs, sex, and rock ‘n roll? No, I’m not appreciating or supporting the use of drugs and overuse of sex as a means to make real music. I’m saying that the music comes from emotion. Powerful stuff. Maybe I’m not making any sense, but in essence, I’m saying maybe Ryan Adams’ jerk-like behavior (according to some music journalists) came from a selfishness that comes with having to fight with one-self  and others to share beautiful music with thousands (maybe millions) of people. I think music is suppose to come from the soul and finding it and performing it isn’t always going to be pretty (I’ll talk about this more with a later entry on Cat Power). From what I’ve read lately though, Ryan is doing quite good. I really want to see him play live someday. I really need to catch up on his newer music.

The main purpose of this blog though is to talk about the song, “Night Birds”. The song is one of many of my favorite Ryan Adams songs. It’s off the album 29 (2005). The song makes me feel like I’m on a beach at night and the waves are crashing. It’s amazing. The song has a bit of eeriness as well with the overlapping of “…into the ocean” towards the end of the track. I can sleep to the song too, which means a lot to me. I hate to have my sleep disrupted and this song definitely keeps me dreaming. The song is just great stuff. Very soothing. Don’t just take my word though, listen to it. If you’ve heard it before, let me know what you think. This won’t be the only time I talk about Ryan Adams so look forward to knowing what I think about some of his other music.

‘Til next time…

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

One thought on “Music: “Night Birds” by Ryan Adams”

Leave a Reply

