Music: ‘Ghost Stories’ (album) by Coldplay

Alright, it has taken me longer than usual to listen to a newly released Coldplay album. I mean Coldplay is my #1 favorite band and I am usually frantically waiting for their new music to be released. However, after my disappointment of Mylo Xyloto (album #5) – I was a little more hesitant to listen to Ghost Stories. First off, I really had stopped following the band as a result of my little interest in Mylo. *I’ll do a review on Mylo itself to explain why my interest in the band lessened.* As I stopped following the band, I had little knowledge of their production of Ghost Stories, so when the album was announced, I was taken aback. It was odd not being in the know of what Coldplay was artistically up to. I mean, I have been a huge fan of them my entire adolescence and their music pretty much saved and changed my life. I still need to talk about their impact on my life in a separate blog. Basically, the band meant everything to me.

Anyway, today I decided that I should finally give the album a chance. I mean, it’s COLDPLAY. I have a huge poster of them in my room so I see them everyday.

The album is a lot more mellow than Mylo for sure. It reminded me of the ‘Parachutes’ and ‘A Rush of Blood to the Head’ days without the semi-sadness. Of course, the band is marketing toward a generation that’s more concerned with dancing and having something ‘catchy’ to listen to. Basically – they’ve become more mainstream than they previously were. Their audience is more so ‘the youth’. I mean, I’m only 22 so I’m considered ‘the youth’, but I never identified with my own generation. If that makes sense. I was listening to Coldplay’s first two albums when I was super young. These albums were so much more mature and abstract. I say ‘mature’ meaning the heaviness, sorrow, and metaphors of the loss of love, the lack of love, and the questioning of identification. *I’ll talk more about those things when I finally get around to discussing their previous albums.* I promise. Mylo was a bit too pop a CD in at the club and lets party with glow sticks. Nothing wrong with that of course, but it was not something I expected from Coldplay. They were getting close to that with Viva la Vida…but for the most part, the album was still very chill and mellow. In fact, it was chilling as in eerie. Which I LOVED!

Now, what this album, ‘Ghost Stories’ sounds like is very chill and there’s definitely an ambient tone to it. I can hear the Bon Iver influence for sure. My favorite tracks on the album are (the radio hit) Magic, Always in My Head, True Love, Midnight, and Ink. The album is basically a love letter. Or, better yet – it feels like a dream composed of mini dreams about falling in love or seeing your true love for the first time. Yes, this album is DEEP without being too jolting or obvious. Listening to it just made me smile and feel like ‘love’ actually does exist and I’ll find it – someday. The album reminded me of the simpler times when you could just tell someone you love them and it was true. Like black and white movies from the 30’s and 40’s. The album just sounds very genuine and with less fluff. It’s straight to the point – I love you.

Give it a listen if you’re into love songs and if you love classic Coldplay’s mellowness. I think the next time I jam this album, it’ll be me, laying under the stars with my head phones on. I don’t live by an ocean, but I’ll dream that one is near by.

‘Til next time…

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

