What I’m Watching: Romance Films

I don’t know if the genre term ‘rom-drams’ has already been coined, but basically I’ve been watching ‘romantic-dramas’ all week. Get it? Like I said in the ‘Fault In Our Stars’ review/post, I love romance movies. I really enjoy seeing two people fall in love. It’s really a beautiful thing. In terms of rom-coms, it’s a funny thing. But in terms of the rom-drams, it’s a very passionate and somewhat unraveling and unnerving thing to watch. Which I love. The movies that I watched are ‘Mona Lisa Smile’ (which was more of a drama about being an educated and empowered woman in the 1950s than a romance), ‘City of Angels’, ‘Angel Eyes’, ‘Hope Floats’,’Notting Hill’ (rom-com), and ‘While You Were Sleeping’ (rom-com). Yes, I do love Sandra Bullock and Julia Roberts. They are my favorite actresses. But in terms of romance movies, I love Jennifer Lopez and classic Meg Ryan as well.

What I really want to say about these films is that they made me feel GOOD. I loved how the men fell for the women. Most of the time in the films, the man was mesmerized by the woman’s beauty and her passion for her job or role or aloofness of him. Most of the time, the women were somewhat lost or there was an emptiness or longing for something more – love. Each of these movies were very different even though they were all about love or had romance linked with other themes. I’d already seen most of these movies when I was younger. However, watching them now, as a young adult looking for my next path (not to be too poetic), the films gave me a glimpse at what could happen if I journeyed through life with only my job in mind and if I was closed off to love for too long. I could find love too late or it could find me when I’m already dark and twisty (Grey’s Anatomy reference – review SOON). But you know, what if I’m too removed from the possibility of believing in love? I don’t know if I want to just hope that love will find me when it finds me. Later on. Eventually. That’s kind of risky isn’t it? But at the same time, isn’t it romantic to think so? The films were a reminder that I should keep love in mind. I don’t have to necessarily seek it, but I do need to keep an eye out for it.

Watch these movies if you haven’t already and if you have – watch them again! They’re great! Plus, Nicholas Cage’s eyes in ‘City of Angels’ are just beautiful!

Nicholas Cage in City of Angels

‘Til next time…

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

2 thoughts on “What I’m Watching: Romance Films”

  1. I share your appreciation for Hope Floats and City of Angels but When Harry Met Sally was the movie where I first fell in love with “classic Meg Ryan”. I saw it on a date, on the big screen as well, and couldn’t help moaning and gasping whenever Meg would do something… roll her eyes, deliver a line, laugh… my date continually elbowed me in the ribs and got very agitated. No second date for us, but my love for Meg Ryan movies endures to this day.

Leave a Reply

