TV: Sons of Anarchy

“Sympathy for the Devil” – Jane’s Addiction (re: The Rolling Stones)

I spent the first half of my summer trying to catch up with shows that I already love and just lagged behind on due to my schedule at school. For some reason, after watching eleven seasons of 7th Heaven (actually seven seasons since I watched the first four seasons during my freshman, sophomore, and junior years of college, but I took a break from the lengthy series, because it’s ya know – lengthy), I decide to watch something new to me and something a bit more raw. Que, Sons of Anarchy. I’ve heard about the show and actually watched the first two episodes while at school this past spring, because I was curious after the whole Charlie Hunnam ‘Fifty Shades’ recast. I knew of Ron Perlman’s tough-guy/somewhat comedic acting style so I at least had some familiarity leading into the show. Of course, I was six seasons behind and there’s only one season left for THIS Fall, so I had to get in the loop and see what this show was all about. Outlaws on bikes…totally different from 7th Heaven. Also, *I’m going to review 7th Heaven* as well, because though the series has been over for a few years, it made an impact on me. Also, I’m impressed/annoyed when a show lasts for so many seasons. Usually the show jumps a few sharks in these cases. Trust me, every show that I watch lasting for an extended amount of seasons has jumped the shark. **I think I’ll actually rant about that in a post, because it’s a pet-peeve.**

Now, back to SOA…this show is AMAZING. Outlaws on bikes, yes. Family, friendship, and community values/ties…oh yes! I was pulled in from the gritty look of the show and the harsh language and other explicit content…murder, sex, drugs, ect. Normally I steer away from paid-cable shows due to the less-restricted content, but I had to see for myself what this show was about. Also, the show wasn’t one of the paid-cable shows that A TON of my peers were talking about: Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, ect. So, I didn’t feel like I was jumping on the bandwagon.

The writing on this show is top-notch and there’s non-stop action. Kurt Sutter is a genius. Everything in this show happens for a reason and it’s sensible and smart at bringing back things that happen in earlier episodes. It’s like none of the characters really can get away with something that has a negative impact on the club and their family. This was refreshing to watch as I am the kind of person who will throw something at the TV/computer when a character gets away with something. The outlaw culture and club rules were/are fascinating. Being a ‘rat’ is the LAST thing that you want to be. I felt like I was learning so much about the percentage of America that I am less familiar with…criminals. These guys live by crime, but at least SAMCRO (the main guys) have boundaries and standards on which crimes they want to be involved with. They kill other outlaws like no one’s business though. Killing/abusing women is something they are not fund of doing though. Morals.

The characters of this show are undeniably SMART, DIFFERENT, and you will hate to love them or love to hate them. They are involved with some of the heaviest of crimes, but I could not help but love some of them. Mainly Chibs, Happy, Opie, and Piney. I think that Jax is sexy and intelligent, but sometimes, he lets things happen right under his nose and doesn’t find out until later which irks me. Also, his life seems to weigh more than the others. Sure, he inherited the club from his biological father and has the position of power, but sometimes I think he allows the title go to his head. He sometimes makes decisions without the club and that makes me question his loyalty. Now Gemma (Jax’s mother and the matriarch) is all about loyalty to her family, but she goes OVERBOARD. She has too many secrets and when they begin to spill out, she goes to drastic measures to keep her hands clean. These two characters take turns on and off my favorites list.

The music on this show is without a doubt exceptional. A lot of the songs are  covers of classic rock hits. During those moments on the show when stuff is really going down, some of the best songs are played. My favorites include ‘Gimme Shelter’, ‘You Are My Sunshine’, ‘John the Revelator’, and ‘Tessellate’.

If a show makes me shed tears, I mean genuine tears for characters and situations and I am rooting for the characters, I know that it’s a great show and I have become a part of the family of the show. Scary to think considering the nature of SOA, but indeed I am a part of the show. I cannot wait to see the final season. It’s going to be a hell of a ride. Fear the Reaper!

The 7th and final season premieres September 9th on FX! Check it out!

‘Til next time!

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

