Music: “Silver Coin” by Angus & Julia Stone

Hey guys! Yes, I know it’s been a while. I’ve been busy trying to get my life together. No, honestly I’ve just been working my butt off and haven’t had the energy to post. But, I’m back and I’m going to go ahead and really kick-off my “Listen With Me” series. If not daily posts of what I’m listening to then for sure weekly posts.

Alright, so I’ve been playing the heck out of this track…”Silver Coin” by Angus & Julia. It’s mesmerizing and whimsical. I feel like the song is the perfect addition to a winter playlist (which is where I filed it in my iTunes). It feels like wind blowing in your face – in a good way. The vocals are nicely harmonized with the subtle piano and wind instruments that’s layered within the tune. I feel like the track is perfect for napping, thinking, reading, whatever really. It’s mellow and surely it’s calming.

I usually listen to it on my way to work. It helps me get my thoughts together before I enter the hustle and bustle. It’s a lovely song and kind of depressing if you’re interpreting or just reading the lyrics. I don’t really listen to it out of sadness. But, if you’re sad, go for it. It helps. Like my previous post on Pearl Jam’s “Black” (and darn-it, I said my next song post would be more upbeat didn’t I? Oh, sorry guys, my bad. I naturally listen to more mellow music like such, but I promise I listen a ton of upbeat tracks too and I’ll post them eventually), it’s about lost love or losing something that you love. I mean Angus is saying that he “had a dream that you were gone” and he “woke up and you were gone” / then there’s the repetitive “I miss you when you’re gone”…that’s definitely not a good feeling. So, depressing – check. Angus’s voice is beautiful though, so it adds that extra spice to the song. He gets kind of angst-y along with Julia as he sings “this goddamn room gets so small sometimes” which is a relatable feeling for sure. So the song can be interpreted as losing thoughts that you’re trying to hold on too but being bombarded by the outside world that makes the room feel smaller and more suffocating. Again, kind of depressing. But I promise, I don’t listen to the song out of depression. It’s just a nice little sliver of air for me. If that makes any sense. The song kind of helps me breathe due to its windy / whimsical feel. Listen to it and see how it makes you feel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APa5eDGl4Uk

‘Til next time…

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

