Dido - "Here With Me"

Music: “Here With Me” by Dido

So, for the past three years, I have been absolutely obsessed and attached to this song. It’s so beautiful. Dido has that voice that’s comparable to a siren’s call. This song just makes me feel lovely and think about lovely things. And most importantly, it’s the opening credits song to one of my absolute favorite TV shows – Roswell! Yes, Roswell. Hit show from The WB back in the day. I have the series on DVD, and I can’t help but to watch it at least 3 times a year. I just love it. I’ll do a separate post on it soon. 

Back to “Here With Me”. The song is sultry and irresistible. It’s about love, of course. But it’s not too flowery or too sweet. It’s about being who you are and being comfortable with who you are, but also being honest with yourself that you’re in love and that person completes you. You’ve found that person and you’re damn sure not letting them go. You can’t ‘breathe until [they’re] resting [there] with [you].’ They are the best part of your day – and that’s ok.

I think you guys can get the full scope of the song by watching the music video. Yes, it has that late 90’s / millennial vibe and that’s totally fine with me. I prefer that era of music anyway. Dido basically sings and walks through a dizzy state of love. She’s walking through the traffic, dropping her coffee, taking off her coat in the middle of the street and making her way up the stairs to get to her bed. Her home, with the one she loves. It’s great, because the fact that she is dizzy in love and could have lost her life walking through streets and such, she is smiling through it all. She’s glad that she’s in love. She’s ok. She’s braving it through. Love is getting her through.

Overall, the song is just stunning. Dido is adorable in the video. She’s apparently playing herself as a famous person and in front of all the lights, camera, and action. But, once it’s all done, she wipes off the mask of makeup and fake happiness and goes home to love. She won’t leave her guy for the fame.

Now, why I love this song – it just makes me feel great. I love the idea of true love and stumbling through the day with your love on your mind. It’s almost paralyzing, but it gives you strength at the same time. That’s what love should be. At least, I think so. You’re just in a stupor of happiness all day, walking through traffic. Walking through life, in love.

Listen to this song guys and watch ROSWELL! Great music for those of you in love or into the idea of love.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSu5nAQ7uZw

‘Til next time!

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Music: “Here With Me” by Dido”

Leave a Reply

