Music: “Lost In My Mind” by The Head and the Heart

“Cause there are stars up above…”

If I had to choose a song to define my life, right now, in this very moment, it would be ‘Lost In My Mind’ by The Head and the Heart. There’s just something light and airy about the mellow ‘Woo Hoo’s’ throughout the track. Kind of a staple of indie tunes these days with bands like Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, Of Monsters and Men, Mumford and Sons, and The Lumineers – all with their ‘Hey Ho’s’. And you know what, it’s fine if The Head and the Heart gets lumped in with the indie crowd, because I love these bands too and they all come to the rescue when I’m in need of some chill / positive vibes tunes.

Anyway, what I like about “Lost In My Mind” is how it seems to be having a conversation with me or how it’s somehow giving me a pep-talk. Then, after the talk it allows me to breathe a bit (the woo-hoos). It’s like “there are stars up above / we can start moving forward”. There’s a bigger picture. I can chill out and stop stressing about everything: applying to grad school, deciding what I want my career to be, saving the planet…These things can be smothering and overbearing, especially when it’s all that I think about, everyday, consecutively. “I get lost in my mind.”

The track is just a nice, but stern pat on the back. And I say this to everyone: keep going and stay positive. Stay focused, but don’t lose your mind.

‘Til next time.

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

