Music: “What Is Love” by Haddaway

“When we are together, I need you forever / Is it love?”

Who doesn’t love this song? This song is the epitome of everything 90’s that I love! It’s hype, it’s sultry, it’s catchy, and it just makes me get out of my seat and start dancing – no matter where I am. I automatically smile when it comes on in my shuffled playlist. I think the song can give anyone rhythm, no matter how awful they may think their dancing is. Someone like myself. But seriously, if you’ve seen A Night at the Roxbury with Will Ferrell, then you at least know how to do that little head-bob dance. Which could cause a serious cramp if you’re not careful. Been there.

The song was also in one of my favorite episodes of My So-Called Lifeand was the ultimate soundtrack for the character Ricky’s breakout ‘I don’t give a hoot about who’s watching / YASSSS’ dance moves. I just remembered being like “please let this song come on while I’m at a random dance club so that I can do this dance!” It was one of those moments where you remembered in high school that there was one kid that just didn’t care what others thought and who didn’t hide his fabulousness. You probably were that kid or admired that kid. I was usually on the sidelines watching and smiling, but now I’m that person at a party!

It’s just a fabulous song that never gets old. Oh, 90’s, how I miss thee!

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

