Music: Halloween Playlist, 2015

Hello, everyone! It’s that spooky time of the year again! Last year, I had a great time sharing some of my favorite tracks from my Halloween-inspired playlist. I thought I’d make it a sort of tradition and include more of the artists and tracks here. I hope you all enjoy!

“Dark Secret” by Matthew Sweet

I first heard this song in the film, The Craft (1996). Yes, back in the 90s. It’s one of those underrated films about teens fitting into the ‘wrong’ crowd. I would describe it as Clueless gone goth. Breckin Meyer is even in it. There are a lot of familiar faces in the film like pre-Scream Neve Campbell and Skeet Ulrich. The style in the film is so awesomely 90s-goth.

the craft

I remember being a kid and wanting to wear black lip-liner and a cute plaid skirt with some combat boots…Glad my mom smacked that idea out of my mind. Don’t think it would have been appropriate to pull off the edgy look at 5 years old. The ladies in the film just looked so cool and bad a**, though.

Anyways, “Dark Secret” is one of the best tracks on the soundtrack. It sounds like Halloween with the ghostly whistling in the background and Sweet’s excellent emphasis on sadness, madness, and confidence as he repeats – “It’s a dark secret. Carry it with you.” What’s the secret? I’m not entirely sure, but what’s more Halloween than being “different” to the point that you have to keep your true identity a secret. Very ‘be-witchin’!

“Desperados” by The Tontons 

So, I have a pretty cool story about The Tontons. I had this really close friend in junior high and to me, he was the guru of all cool music. He really got me into indie rock and broadened my horizons on the meaning of great music. He got in touch with me while I was in college and told me about this band, The Tontons, where his older brother is a band member. I was like, what?! So, immediately I got into their music and they’re excellent.

tontons

“Desperados” is one of those tracks that can hypnotize you. The lead singer, Asli Omar, croons and swoons as she beautifully parts the waves of all the eery instrumentation. It’s like she’s putting a spell on the listener. I can’t put my finger on it, but the music sounds like a mixture of western cowboys and latin conquistadors having a music festival on El Dia de Los Muertos. Pretty cool.

Update: I actually met Asli Omar yesterday and she’s the most down-to-earth person. She’s seriously so sweet.

“And It Rained All Night” by Thom Yorke

I talked about Thom Yorke last year in my Halloween post, but I couldn’t pass up another opportunity to feature more of his music. This guy is a music genius. I am a HUGE HUGE fan of Radiohead and Yorke and listening to their music really shaped my college experience (when I heavily started listening to them).

thom yorke

The eeriness about this song comes from Yorke’s beautiful voice on top of this pulsing sensation of chaos and erratic music. It’s like he’s caught in this storm and shapes the storm and aims it at whomever he pleases. It’s a perfect song to listen to during a rainy day actually, and even more great for a Halloween mixer.

“Lavinia” by The Veils

This song is absolutely beautiful and powerful. It’s like I feel it everywhere when I listen to it. I first heard the album version on One Tree Hill and both incarnations are quite the experience to listen to. I take it as a lost love. The lead singer, Finn Andrews, sounds absolutely distraught and heartbroken, calling after his sweet Lavinia. Not sure if Lavinia is an actual person or she stands for something else – like a drug or state of mind. But, the song is this beautiful/dark desperate cry for her. He’s possessed by her love.

“Rolling In On a Burning Tire” by The Dead Weather

I hate to admit it, but I first heard this song on the Twilight: Eclipse film. Yeah, I totally have a love/hate relationship with this series, because it’s so awful – but it was a heavy part of my adolescence. Everyone was talking about Twilight and I had to see what all of the fuss was about. I threw myself into the madness and the one good thing I got from it was Eclipse’s soundtrack. I can’t even lie – it’s amazing. I can listen to it in its entirety. So, with a song from the soundtrack of a film about vampires and werewolves, it’s bound to have some sort of Halloween significance.

edward
Thanks for the memories, I guess.

It’s hot! It’s like sexy and dark and cool. I can imagine Dracula walking in slow-mo through a cloud of fog, tilting a top-hat or something. I don’t know. The song, to me, is calling out all monsters and telling them to cast their shadow and enjoy the night. But it does it in a cool way. “The moon is always full for us.”

“Where is My Mind” by The Pixies

Another excellent soundtrack is from Fight Club. Yeah, we’re going to talk about Fight Club for just a second. What is more Halloween than a guy with split personality and dueling it out with his own corporeal Id? “Where is My Mind” excellently represents the madness of this film and the idea of meeting your most primitive self and figuring out that your mind has a life of its own.

fight club

In the midst of losing your mind and battling it out with it when it occasionally shows up to wreck some havoc, why would you want to look for it? The answer is clear. You need it. You own it…

Well, that’s it for now. Listen to these tunes to make today even more awesome. Or, on a regular day.

‘Til next time and happy Halloween!

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

One thought on “Music: Halloween Playlist, 2015”

Leave a Reply

