Happy Thanksgiving!

I’m truly grateful to be alive this year. With all that’s going on in this world and with all of the people who are sad, sick, away from their loved ones, angry, confused, etc – I am happy to wake up and say thank you to whoever that’s watching over us. Just to be alive and well.

We live in times where we can easily let the minutes just fly by and forget how precious they are. I say this because this is what I used to do with television. I’d use it as a tool to forget that I am a part of this world and that I am important. That I matter. I used it to mask my true feelings about various situations. I used it to move along the time until something BETTER would come up.

Nowadays, I am realizing that I am not hiding from anything, but rather enjoying television because I love it. Because it actually makes me feel alive and important. It’s truly a growing and changing medium and has a special connection to billions (maybe trillions of people). It’s what keeps many of us together. It’s what keeps me motivated to be better and do better things. Hopefully one day I will have much more control over/with the growth of this amazing medium.

With all of that said, I wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving! I see it not as a day of all of the food that we can consume without blinking (I’m the only vegetarian in my family so – not much anyway). But, I see it as a day of reflection. To mark the opportunity to say thanks – for whatever we’ve accomplished. For whatever that makes us happy.

If you’re in the mood for television, like I aways am – watch episode “Pangs” from the fourth season of Buffy, the Vampire Slayer. It’s truly hilarious and a great holiday special. I have a whole blog post coming up on Buffy early in the new year! So stay tuned!

‘Til next time!

Published by

Ke'ara

Hi! I’m Ke’ara and I love writing about and over-analyzing the tropes and aesthetics of my favorite TV shows, movies, and tunes. I mostly just enjoy watching and listening to them though. Hope you all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

